Email: info@fedfire.gov.ng | Emergency Line: +234 803 2003 557,112 ,122

About Us

The Federal Fire Service was established in 1901 by the British colonial regime as a unit within the Lagos Police Service Department to prevent and combat fire outbreaks in the Government Reserved Areas of Lagos Colony. This Unit was formed and incorporated alongside the then Lagos Police and was known as the Lagos Police Fire Brigade.. The Police Fire Brigade was thus an apparatus of the British Colonial Government. Its leadership and administration rested squarely on the colonists. The Police Fire Brigade essentially developed along the line of protecting the colonial regime’s interests and infrastructure.. The Lagos Police Fire Brigade became Federal Fire Service by an Act of Parliament in 1963 known as the Fire Service Act of 1963. All the officers and men serving in the Lagos Police Fire Brigade were transferred to the Federal Ministry of Internal Affairs as officers and men of the Federal Fire Service. The Federal Fire Service is therefore a paramilitary organisation, under the Supervision of the Minister of the Federal Ministry of Interior, with the Controller-General as its Head.


The Federal Fire Service under the leadership of the Controller General is being repositioned for effective service delivery.

Commissioning of the new state of the arts fire fighting trucks by the Honourable Minister of Interior

New Look of the Headquarters building of the Federal Fire Service. 13 Feb 2017

Our Gallery